Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

6 April 2018

The Summers Night Project - composers announced

Carmen Chan Schoenborn Image: Carmen Chan Schoenborn  

Composers selected for Tura New Music's The Summers Night Project have been announced. The three artists chosen from a national call-out are Olivia Davies (WA), Rachel Bruerville (SA) and Carmen Chan Schoenborn (VIC).

All three will have a chance to create works for a chamber ensemble comprised of members of Decibel New Music Ensemble and Soundstream. Each composer has been allocated a lead mentor from their home state and has access to several performer mentors with different areas of expertise.

The Summers Night Project has been established to support and mentor emerging WA, SA and Victoria-based composers who identify as women, to create a composition for performances in Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne, with the aim of growing the gender diversity of composers in music programs Australia-wide. Mentors for the project (named in honour of writer and feminist Anne Summers) include Cat Hope, Gabriella Smart, Rebecca Erin Smith, Becky Llewellyn, Stuart James, Tristen Parr and Derek Pascoe.

A two-day rehearsal intensive will take place in Perth from 30 June to 1 July 2018, followed by concerts in the three host states.

The Summers Night Project is presented by Tura New Music, Soundstream and Monash University, and acknowledges the support of APRA AMCOS, the Australian Music Centre and Decibel New Music Ensemble.

> For more details about the project, see the Tura New Music website.

> Register your free seats for three concerts in July: Subiaco Arts Centre, Subiaco WA, 2 July at 7pm; Elder Hall, Adelaide SA, 4 July at 7pm; Monash Music Auditorium, Melbourne VIC, 6 July at 7:30pm.

[Edited 28 June - event information added.]

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.