Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Niko Schauble : Associate Artist

Photo of Niko Schauble

Photo: Chris Frangou

Niko Schauble is an award-winning drummer, composer, producer and audio engineer with a practice spanning the full range of contemporary notated and improvised music.

Born in 1962 Niko grew up in a family of musicians, singers, a record producer & lyricist and a famous jazz bassist (Eberhard Weber). He started to play piano at age 4 and drums at age 11. His first forays into audio recording were on a 4-track tape machine in the late 1970s.

Niko has performed with many of the world's leading artists including Wynton Marsalis, Lee Konitz, Enrico Rava, Paul Grabowsky, Trilok Gurtu, Karaikudi R. Mani, Arthur Blythe, Deborah Conway and Archie Roach. His work is documented on over 60 albums.

Niko's compositions span film and television scores, ballet, interdisciplinary works, chamber and symphonic music, with major commissions from the Australian Art Orchestra, West Australian Ballet, Radiosinfonieorchester Frankfurt, Queensland Festival and the Berlin Jazz Composers Orchestra.

Niko has held teaching positions in jazz and film music at the University of Melbourne, Monash University, Melbourne Polytechnic and has been a guest lecturer at QUT, ANU, UTAS, WAAPA, University of Adelaide, JIB (Jazz Institut Berlin) and the Sommerakademie der Landesmusikschule Berlin.

He is currently working on "Clear Waters", a new work for Jazz Trio and large Symphony Orchestra, commissioned by the University of Ulm, Germany, as well as an educational book and video series for drumkit playing.

In 2012 Niko opened Pughouse Studios, a professional recording studio in Melbourne, Australia, producing more than 150 albums to date.

Selected Awards and Nominations:

  • 2020 Apra Amcos Nomination (Luminary Award)
  • 2019 Finalist Apra Amcos Art Music Awards
  • 2005 Finalist at Annecy Film Festival
  • 1997 Honorable Mention Julius Hemphil Awards, New York

Selected Album Releases as Bandleader:

Selected Commissions:

  • "Clear Waters" for Jazz Trio and Symphony Orchestra, premiere performance planned 6 July 2022
  • "Mus Persequeris" for Violin, Clarinet & Piano, Plexus Ensemble
  • "Novecento" Ballet Music, West Australian Ballet
  • "The Voyage" Concerto for Alto Saxophone & Symphony Orchestra
  • "Passion, Beauty, Time" for chamber orchestra, jazz quartet and 2 voices Frankfurter Radiosinfonieorchester.
  • "Crucified" Adaptation of St.Matthew Passion by J.S.Bach for the Australian Art Orchestra (5 composers)
  • "The Ferryman" commissioned by the Australian Art Orchestra premiere performance 1994 released on CD 'Into The Fire', ABC Records 465 705-2
  • "Ya-it-ma Thang" for Alto-Saxophone and ten-piece Ensemble commissioned by the Wangaratta Festival premiere performance 1992 released on Timeless Records SJP 412
  • "Mood 25p" for Piano and Drum-set premiered by Michael Kieran Harvey at the Australian National Academy of Music 30.June 1996
  • Numerous commissions for the Berlin Jazz Composers Orchestra since 1985

Selected album releases as musician/composer/producer:

  • Nick Haywood Trio feat. Petra Haden "Back to the Garden"
  • Mirko Guerrini "Horizontal Quartet"
  • Deborah Conway & Willy Zygier "Everybody's Begging" & "Stories of Ghosts"
  • Torrio! (Grabowsky/Guerrini/Schauble) "Torrio!", Encore Jazz
  • Australian Art Orchestra & Sruthi Laya "The Chennai Sessions", "Crossing Roper Bar Vol 1 & II", "Music for SITA", "Into the Fire", "Passion", "Ringing the Bell Backwards"
  • Paul Grabowsky "3", "Big Adventure", "TeeVee", "Viva Viva"
  • Christof Griese "Double Drums Project" (with Tony Buck), "Mogrinos" (with Leszek Mozdzer), "52nd Return"
  • Doug de Vries "Doug DeVries", Newmarket Records (NE- 001)
  • Berlin Jazz Composer's Orchestra "Live 30", "25 Jahre", "20 Years", "v15-twenty", "How Rook", "Vol I, II & III"
  • Berliner Saxophon Quartett "12 Notes, 4 Musicians and the Blues", "Vol.I + II"

Niko Schauble — current to September 2021

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for
2019 Art Music Awards: Award for Excellence in Jazz Finalist for recording activities at Pughouse Studio

Selected Commissions

  Work Commission Details
Digital sheet music sample Mus Persequeris : trio (2016) Commissioned by Plexus Ensemble.
Digital sheet music sample Crucified : large chamber ensemble (2008) Commissioned by Australian Art Orchestra.

Analysis & Media

- Video: AAO performs Passion at Soundstreams, Toronto