Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

ACO - The Reef


ACO - The Reef

  • Date: Thursday, 28 February 2013, 7.30pm
  • Venue: Newcastle City Hall — 290 King St, Newcastle, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: from $42 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 1800 444 444

Event Details

ALICE IN CHAINS Them Bones BACH Sonata No.1, BWV1001: Fugue BEETHOVEN String Quartet, Op.130: Cavatina CRUMB Black Angels (excerpts) DEAN Electric Preludes: Peripeteia GRANDAGE/ATKINS Immutable KILAR Orawa LIGETI Ramifications PIGRAM Mimi, Raindancing RACHMANINOV Vocalise RAMEAU Les Boréades: Les Vents SHOSTAKOVICH Chamber Symphony, Op.110a: Allegro Molto SEEGER Where Have All the Flowers Gone TOGNETTI/GRANDAGE Beyond TOGNETTI Heart of The Black Beast, Bathymetry Arrangements by Tognetti and Grandage Footage by Mick Sowry and Jon Frank projected onto a big screen onstage. Concept by Richard Tognetti Richard Tognetti Director and Violin Mick Sowry Director and Producer Jon Frank Director of Photography Derek Hynd Director of Surfing Mark Atkins Didgeridoo Stephen Pigram Voice and Guitar Satu Vänskä Violin and Voice Julian Thompson Cello Australian Chamber Orchestra In May, when the surf is at its best, Richard Tognetti took a crew of surfers, musicians and film makers to Ningaloo Reef, where the desert meets the sea. They spent two unforgettable weeks surfing, making music and filming and the result is The Reef. Immerse yourself in Jon Frank's images of the ocean, the world's best fin-free surfers, the arid desert landscape and the starry sky, as an incredible array of music swirls around you. You'll never forget it.

Featured non-Australian music: Alice in Chains, Bach, Beethoven, Crumb, Kilar, Ligeti, Pigram, Rachmaninov, Rameau, Shostakovich.

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login