Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Adelaide Festival 2021 - The Hermit of Green Light : Incredible Floridas - Chamber Landscapes


Adelaide Festival 2021 - The Hermit of Green Light : Incredible Floridas - Chamber Landscapes

  • Date: Saturday, 6 March 2021, 2pm
  • Venue: UKARIA Cultural Centre — 119 Williams Rd, Mt Barker Summit, SA
  • Series: This event is part of the Adelaide Festival 2021 series
  • Tickets: Adults: $69 | Concession: $55 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 131246

Event Details

This event is part of the Incredible Floridas - Chamber Landscapes concert series curated by Kim Williams.

Though massively influential, Margaret Sutherland’s works remain scandalously underperformed. Her Third String Quartet, a taut piece from 1967, sits three decades into her career but was her first commission. A mystical masterwork by ‘Max’ Davies will transport you to a finale of extra-terrestrial beauty, before his former disciple Ross Edwards brings you home with his saxophone quintet, suffused with the sounds of the bush. Percy Grainger makes obvious his love of the sax in some haunting miniatures and Bach fugues, arranged for lots of them.


Jack Symonds, conductor
Michael Duke, soprano saxophone
Geoffrey Collins, flute
John Gaden, poetry
Jason Noble, clarinets
Claire Edwardes, percussion
Jacob Abela, piano
James Wannan, violin & viola
Blair Harris, cello 
Flinders Quartet
Adelaide Festival Saxophone Ensemble


Margaret Sutherland (1897-1984): String Quartet No. 3 (1967) 
Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016): Ave maris stella (1975)

Brief interval

Michael Dransfield (1948-73): The Hermit of Green Light (1972)
Ross Edwards (b. 1943): Bright birds and sorrows for soprano saxophone and string quartet (2015, rev. 2019)
Percy Grainger (1882-1961): Music and arrangements of music for saxophone ensemble
     The Lonely Desert-Man Sees the Tents of the Happy Tribes
     The Immovable Do (or the Ciphering C) (1933-59)
J.S. Bach: Prelude and Fugue from The Well Tempered Clavier, Book II, BWV 874
John Jenkins: Fantasia for 5 viols: No. 15

Featured non-Australian music: Peter Maxwell Davies, J.S. Bach

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by email to stevp@adelaidefestival.com.au

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login