Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Centenary Symphony Concert


Centenary Symphony Concert

  • Date: Monday, 11 March 2013, 8pm
  • Venue: North Lawn, Commonwealth Place — Canberra, ACT
  • Tickets: This is a free event

Event Details

As the culmination of Canberra’s 100th birthday in March 2013, the Canberra Symphony Orchestra is honoured to have been chosen by the ACT Government to perform the world premiere of Andrew Schultz’s Symphony No. 3 – Century, especially commissioned for the Centenary of Canberra.

Concluding a day of events around Lake Burley Griffin featuring activities and entertainment, the multiple stages will wind down in the evening and the CSO, lead by Chief Conductor Nicholas Milton, will be joined by the special Centenary Choir for this spectacular event in the main arena.

Symphony No 3 – Century includes three large orchestral movements preceded by short choral segments performed by the Centenary Choir which is composed of singers from the Woden Valley Youth Choir, The Resonants and the Oriana Chorale. Composer Andrew Schultz has included the three Architects texts in the choral movements for the work including words from the two Chicago architects who most inspired Griffin’s design and approach – Daniel Burnham and Louis Sullivan. It also includes the words of Walter Burley-Griffin, from his inspired original Canberra plan submission.

The concert concludes with a fireworks finale saluting the Griffins’ design of Canberra. Take your place in history and join us for what will be a highlight in an unforgettable Centenary year!

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Symphony No. 3, op. 91 : Century (2012) by Andrew Schultz — World premiere
— performed by Nicholas Milton and Canberra Symphony Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login