Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and wearing a mask, and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

CIMF18: Ulysses Now


CIMF18: Ulysses Now

  • Date: Wednesday, 2 May 2018, 6:30pm
  • Venue: Fitters' Workshop — Wentworth Avenue, Next to Canberra Glassworks, Kingston, ACT
  • Series: This event is part of the Canberra International Music Festival 2018 series
  • Tickets: Adults: $69 | Children: $25 | Concession: $64 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 6230 5880

Event Details

The Greek Homeric epic the Odyssey, written ca. 800 BCE, remains one of the seminal works of Western civilisation. In this tale of agonising struggle and hair-raising adventure, the hero’s journey covers ten years at sea at the mercy of gods, men and monsters, before peace and domestic bliss are finally regained. Monteverdi drew on the second part of Homer’s epic for the first of his Venetian operas: Ulysses’ efforts to defeat the suitors of his wife Penelope.

The first part of the Odyssey has gained new and tragic relevance in recent years in light of the plight of refugees around the globe today.


Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643): Scenes from Il ritorno di Ulisse in patria (1640)
Alex Pozniak: In Search of Asylum for piano quartet
Mary Finsterer: Angelus for clarinet trio
Robert Davidson and Stephanie Arnold: Across the Water (2016)


I Bassifondi
    Simone Vallerotonda, theorbo, baroque guitar, chitarra battente
    Gabriele Miracle, percussion
    Mirko Arnone. Colascione e chitarra battente
Chloe Lankshear, soprano
Kate Howden, mezzo-soprano
Tobias Cole, countertenor
Andrew Fysh, bass
Veronique Serret, violin
James Wannan, viola
Christopher Pidcock, cello
Magdalenna Krstevska, clarinet
Rachael Shipard, piano
Stephanie Arnold, cello
Roland Peelman, piano

Featured non-Australian music: Monteverdi

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 6230 5880 or by email to info@cimf.org.au

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login