Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Coming Together: the Theatre of Percussion


Coming Together: the Theatre of Percussion

  • Date: Wednesday, 10 April 2013, 7pm
  • Venue: Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University — 140 Grey St, Southbank, South Brisbane, QLD
  • Tickets: Adults: $15 | Concession: $10 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (07) 3735 6241

Event Details

Clocked Out presents their second concert in the ensemble-in-residence series 2013, and their third concert of percussion group Early Warning System. Percussion is a gestural as well as sonic art form, offering both aural and visual clues to communicate ideas. Coming Together exploits this idea through text, morse code, gesture, and percussing.

Early Warning System is a new Australian percussion group, co-directed by two of Australia’s most innovative percussionists, Michael Askill and Vanessa Tomlinson. Together with emerging percussionists from a flourishing Queensland scene – including Rebecca Lloyd-Jones, Cameron Kennedy, and Nozomi Omote – EWS offer music that celebrates our position in the world, with an Asia-Pacific perspective, and our interests in deep listening to landscape and singular sound sources.


Georges Aperghis: Les Guetteurs De Sons – composed 1981 (for three speaking drummers)

Kate Neal: What Hath – composed 2012 (for 4 percussionists using morse code signaling lights purpose built for this event)

Frederic Rzewski: Coming Together – composed 1972 (for percussion band with Prepared Piano and solo vocalist reading a letter written by Sam Melville, who was an inmate in Attica prison, and was one of the leaders of the 1971 Attica riots, where Melville was killed).

Performers: Michael Askill, Vanessa Tomlinson, Rebecca Lloyd-Jones, Cameron Kennedy, Nozomi Omote and Stephanie Mudford

Featured non-Australian music: Aperghis, Rzewski

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (07) 3735 6241 or by email to concerts@griffith.edu.au

Featured Australian Works

What hath : percussion quintet by Kate Neal

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login