Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Diana Doherty performs Ross Edwards


Diana Doherty performs Ross Edwards

  • Date: Friday, 11 August 2023 to Saturday, 12 August 2023, 7:30PM
  • Venue: Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall — Bennelong Point, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 8215 4600

Event Details

CELEBRATING ROSS EDWARDS Celebrate the music of Ross Edwards, one of our most prominent composers, and his unique soundworld that draws on Australia’s natural life and landscape. Ross Edwards is one of our nation’s most prominent composers. His writing has drawn inspiration from Australia’s natural life and landscape to present a unique vision of place. In this special event celebrating Ross Edwards’ 80th birthday, Chief Conductor Simone Young presents a performance in light, sound and movement at the superb Concert Hall. Ross Edwards’ Oboe Concerto was created especially for the Sydney Symphony and our Principal Oboe Diana Doherty in 2002, inspired by her virtuosity and richly expressive playing. It’s a dynamic work in three movements that tells stories of the natural world, cultures colliding, love and dance. Layering Western musical styles over bird calls and traditional Australian sounds, it provides a stunning, glowing representation of our land. Continuing this rich and enduring partnership, the Sydney Symphony has commissioned a new work by this esteemed Australian composer for this concert. Edwards’ music often draws inspiration from the beauty of nature, and in Ralph Vaughan Williams’ buoyant, optimistic and lush Eighth Symphony, with its depiction of England’s green and pleasant land, we find a clear musical connection. Personally chosen by Simone Young to contrast with the Australian landscapes so redolent in Ross Edwards’ music, it is a perfect companion in this celebratory concert.

PEGGY POLIAS Arachne* 50 Fanfares Commission
ROSS EDWARDS Oboe Concerto, Bird Spirit Dreaming**

Featured non-Australian music: Vaughan Wiliams - Symphony No.8

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 8215 4600 or by email to info@sydneysymphony.com

Featured Australian Works

Arachne : full orchestra by Peggy Polias
— performed by Simone Young and Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Concerto for oboe and orchestra (oboe with chamber orchestra) by Ross Edwards
— performed by Simone Young, Sydney Symphony Orchestra and Diana Doherty

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login