Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

DSO: Kakadu


DSO: Kakadu

  • Date: Saturday, 21 October 2017, 7:30pm
  • Venue: Darwin Convention Centre — Stokes Hill Road, Darwin, NT
  • Tickets: Adult: $55 - $105 | Concession: $45 - $85 | Under 16: $25 - $30 | Family: $145 - $155 — Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

Master Series II
#masterseries2kakadu #dsont #comeandseethesound

Join the DSO as we continue our exploration of the music of Dmitri Shostakovich and welcome back to the orchestra one of our favourite and cherished soloists Michael Kieran Harvey. We also continue our exploration and celebration of the music of Peter Sculthorpe, one of Australia’s greatest composers whose affinity with the Northern Territory played a significant role in his inspiration and output. In this concert we perform what many regard as one of his most important and greatest works – Kakadu.

The work takes its name from the Kakadu National Park in northern Australia. This enormous wilderness area stretches from coastal tidal plains to rugged mountain plateaux, and in it may be found the living culture of its Aboriginal inhabitants, dating back for fifty thousand years. Sadly, today there are only a few remaining speakers of kakadu or gagadju. The work, then, is concerned with my feelings about this place, its landscape, its change of seasons, its dry season and its wet, its cycle of life and death. In three parts, the outer sections are dance-like and energetic, sharing similar musical ideas. The central section is somewhat introspective, and is dominated by a cor anglais solo. ... Apart from this solo, the melodic material in Kakadu, as in much of my recent music, was suggested by the contours and rhythms of Aboriginal chant. — Peter Sculthorpe.

Conductor - Matthew Wood
Soloists - Michael Kieran Harvey (piano); Monica Naselow (violin)


Shostakovich Ballet Suite No. 3
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 2
Harvey Homage to Liszt
Sculthorpe Kakadu
Tchaikovsky Marche Slave Op. 31

Featured non-Australian music: Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (08) 8946 6974 or by email to dso@cdu.edu.au

Featured Australian Works

Homage to Liszt : for the 200th birthday of Liszt Ferenc (2011) by Michael Kieran Harvey
— performed by Michael Kieran Harvey
Kakadu : for orchestra (1988) by Peter Sculthorpe
— performed by Matthew Wood and Darwin Symphony Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login