Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and wearing a mask, and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

Dvořák’s Cello Concerto


Dvořák’s Cello Concerto

  • Date: Friday, 8 August 2014, 7:30
  • Venue: Federation Concert Hall, Hobart — 1 Davey St, Hobart, TAS
  • Tickets: $29 - $86 — Tickets can be purchased by phone on 1800 001 190

Event Details

PROKOFIEV Symphony No 1, Classical

SCHOENBERG Chamber Symphony No 2

DVORAK Cello Concerto

KOEHNE The Persistence of Memory

"Few pieces of music are as moving as Dvořák’s Cello Concerto. Composed for the great Czech cellist Hanuš Wihan in the mid-1890s, it combines technical virtuosity with heartfelt emotion. In the course of writing the work, Dvořák received word of the death of a much loved friend, and the concerto takes on a beautifully serene tone as it makes its way towards its elegiac conclusion. Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No 2 is a landmark work of musical modernism while Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony brims with vitality and good humour.

"Pre-concert talk with Dr Maria Grenfell and Marko Letonja commences at 6.30pm." -- Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Featured non-Australian music: Dvorak, Prokofiev, Schoenberg

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 1800 001 190 or by email to boxoffice@tso.com.au

Featured Australian Works

The persistence of memory : elegy for oboe and string orchestra (2014) by Graeme Koehne — World premiere
— performed by David Nuttall, Marko Letonja and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login