Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Kontiki Racket


Kontiki Racket

  • Date: Friday, 21 June 2019 to Saturday, 22 June 2019, 6.30pm
  • Venue: Paddington Town Hall — 249 Oxford Street, (near corner of Oatley Road), Paddington, NSW
  • Tickets: $65/$25/Under 18-y-o free — Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

A visceral world of living and breathing new sounds, sinuous, sculptural and sizzling, in the form of a two-day festival event at Paddington Town Hall. Kontiki Racket counterpoints Ensemble Offspring with Adelaide’s celebrated string ensemble Zephyr Quartet, and throws in Hatched Academy artists past and current as well as a live installation of our latest line up of Offspring Bites videos. An immersive event showcasing the latest new music from around the globe in an expedition of invention.

Bringing the festival vibe will be Kontiki Bazaar, a market activating the giant Paddington Town Hall space by bringing together artist salon talks (featuring composers Christopher Fox (London), Cat Hope (Melbourne), Hilary Kleinig (Adelaide) and Nicole Murphy (Brisbane), a Meet the Artist social corner, a weird and wonderful instrument corner, a music swap table for all your old sheet music, CDs and LPs, and local food and beverage providers and local artisans.

Finally, as part of Kontiki Racket, we will be launching our 2019 Offspring Bites release, featuring world premiere recordings by Cassie To, Holly Harrison, Bree van Reyk, Andrea Keller and Melody Eötvös – with screenings of the video art commissioned to complement these stunning new works written for and recorded by Ensemble Offspring by Peter Humble, Rowena Crowe, Cassie To and Su-An Ng.

Performers: Claire Edwardes (Artistic Director/percussion) Roland Peelman (conductor) Véronique Serret (violin) Anna McMichael (violin) Blair Harris (cello) Kirsty McCahon (double bass) Rowan Phemister (harp) Lamorna Nightingale (flute) Jason Noble (clarinet) Zubin Kanga (piano/keyboard) Joe Fallon (electric guitar) Zephyr Quartet (Hilary Kleinig, Jason Thomas, Emily Tulloch, Emma Perkins (Guest)) Henry Justo (viola – Hatched Academy 2019 Associate Artist) Callum G’Froerer (trumpet) Niki Johnson (percussion)


Featured non-Australian music: Fox, Lizee, Kyriakides, Woithe, Mazzoli, Meredith, Shaw, Berio, Romitelli

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by email to admin@ensembleoffspring.com

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login