Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

National Capital Orchestra


National Capital Orchestra

  • Date: Saturday, 15 October 2016, 7:30pm
  • Venue: Llewellyn Hall ANU School of Music — School of Music, The Australian National University, Canberra, ACT
  • Tickets: $20/$40

Event Details

Experience the National Capital Orchestra in its largest concert of the year! Proudly opening with the Canberra premiere of Sally Greenaway’s Worlds Within Worlds, as commissioned by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, this program is set to delight lovers of Romantic and 20th-century music.

Highlighting two lesser-known composers, the full force of the orchestra is truly felt in Alexander Scriabin’s The Poem of Ecstasy. Acclaimed as “a sincere expression of genius,” the symphonic poem will leave you with a grand sense of being larger than life. This is matched by an even larger masterpiece, Josef Suk’s Symphony No.2 Asrael for large orchestra in C minor. Having initially intended the work to be composed in memory of his father-in-law and teacher Antonín Dvořák, Suk was struck, mid-composition, by the death of his wife Otilie Suková. The symphony acts as a reflection of Suk’s love and admiration for Dvořák, while showing the full devastation of this double loss as the symphony progresses.

Join conductor Leonard Weiss for this unmissable evening of ground-breaking works for orchestra, and the grand finale of the National Capital Orchestra’s 2016 concert series.

Featured non-Australian music: Scriabin, Dvorak

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Worlds within worlds : full orchestra (2015) by Sally Greenaway
— performed by Leonard Weiss and National Capital Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login