Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Southern Cross Soloists


Southern Cross Soloists

  • Date: Sunday, 15 June 2014, 3pm
  • Venue: QPAC Concert Hall — Queensland Performing Arts Centre, Cnr Grey St and Melbourne St, Southbank, QLD
  • Tickets: $59 — Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

Southern Cross Soloists: Virtuoso
with Ilya Konovalov, violin

Long-lasting legends and fascinating fantasies feature in the Southern Cross Soloists' second concert for 2014, Virtuoso.

Featuring international violin sensation and first Concertmaster of the Israel Philharmonic, Ilya Konovalov, Virtuoso is inspired by one of literature's most recognisable legends, Faust, in Wieniawski's Faust Fantasy.

The program continues through a string of other works performed with Konovalov, including the world premiere of a new work written especially for the Soloists by leading Australian jazz and classical composer Mark Isaacs.

      Handel - Overture, Recitative, Aria from Il Deliro Amoroso (Cantata HWV 99)
      Wieniawski - Faust Fantasy
      Shostakovich - Three Romances on Verses of Alexander Blok
      Prokofiev - Love of Three Oranges Suite
      Isaacs - Vocalise - World Premiere
      Waxman - Carmen Fantasy

Featured non-Australian music: Handel, Wieniawski, Shostakovich, Prokofiev, Waxman

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Vocalise by Mark Isaacs — World premiere
— performed by Southern Cross Soloists

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login