Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and wearing a mask, and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

Sydney Bach Society: Baroque Masters


Sydney Bach Society: Baroque Masters

  • Date: Tuesday, 5 March 2019, 12:30pm
  • Venue: Christ Church St Laurence — 812 George St, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: This is a free event, however registration is required online or by phone on 0415 035 952

Event Details

The Sydney Bach Society in association with Christ Church St Laurence is delighted to return in 2019 with a new season that celebrates the music of J.S. Bach and the talents of Australia's rising stars. We welcome old and new lovers of J.S. Bach’s music to these casual, bite sized events. The 30–40 minute concerts will showcase an impressive array of local talent in the beautiful surrounds of Christ Church St Laurence.

For our first concert of the 2019 season, we're delighted to present the extraordinary mezzo-soprano, Anna Dowsley. Ms. Dowsley will be joined by James Doig (chamber organ), Christopher Bennett (violoncello), and Josinaldo Costa (guitar) in presenting a selection of arias by J.S. Bach, Telemann, and Handel. Included in the program is a new work by Australian composer Aristea Mellos, 'Et Exultavit' (after J.S. Bach).

Performers: Anna Dowsley (mezzo-soprano) Christopher Bennett (cello) Josinaldo Costa (guitar) James Doig (chamber organ)


Featured non-Australian music: works by J.S. Bach, Handel, Telemann & Geminiani

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0415 035 952 or by email to aristeamellos@gmail.com

Featured Australian Works

Et Exultavit : (after J.S. Bach), for mezzo-soprano, chamber organ and cello (2019) by Aristea Mellos — World premiere
— performed by Christopher Bennett, James Doig and Anna Dowsley

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login