Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Sydney Symphony: Dean, Brahms, Schubert


Sydney Symphony: Dean, Brahms, Schubert

  • Date: Saturday, 3 December 2011, 2pm
  • Venue: Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall — Bennelong Point, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: $115-$35 — Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

In 2009 Brett Dean’s violin concerto won the Grawemeyer Award – a kind of Nobel prize for composers – and we’re thrilled to be presenting its Sydney premiere with the soloist for whom it was written, Frank Peter Zimmermann.

“Brett has a very human way of writing music,” says conductor Jonathan Nott, “it has a soul to it, an expressive line, fantastic colours, and he invites you to enjoy the sound.”

The concerto has a story, too. Each of its four movements is prefaced by a letter: Brahms to Clara Schumann, Vincent van Gogh, the composer Hugo Wolf, and Ned Kelly’s famous Jerilderie letter. And the music mirrors the intensity of love (with a quote from Brahms’s Fourth), the pain of an artist, waltz-like decadence and the bushranger’s defiance.

Building the program around this powerful heart, Jonathan Nott has chosen a “symphony in miniature” to prepare the way for the concerto, and the expansive singing lines and heavenly length of Schubert’s final symphony.

This concert brings together three composers who break the mould in different ways and it unites a contemporary Australian voice with the German Romantic tradition that has shaped his style.

BRAHMS Tragic Overture
DEAN The Lost Art of Letter Writing – Violin Concerto SYDNEY PREMIERE
SCHUBERT Symphony No.9 (Great C Major)

Jonathan Nott conductor
Frank Peter Zimmermann violin

Pre-concert talk by Robert Murray in the Northern Foyer, 45 minutes before each performance

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

The lost art of letter writing : for violin and orchestra (2006) by Brett Dean
— performed by Jonathan Nott, Sydney Symphony and Frank Peter Zimmermann

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login