Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Symphonia Eluvium : (Symphony of the Floods)


Symphonia Eluvium : (Symphony of the Floods)

  • Date: Sunday, 11 September 2011, 7:30pm
  • Venue: QPAC Concert Hall — Queensland Performing Arts Centre, Cnr Grey St and Melbourne St, Southbank, QLD
  • Series: This event is part of the Brisbane Festival 2011 series
  • Tickets: $40-$60 — Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

Celebrated Australian composer Elena Kats-Chernin had already begun work on composing a symphony for Brisbane before the city embarked on its most eventful year in a generation.

But in January, as the waters subsided, she realised she had to start the special commission for Brisbane Festival 2011 from scratch. Symphonia Eluvium (Symphony of the Floods) came to life.

The composition of the symphony became Kats-Chernin's response to the devastation that destroyed so much, yet united people in so many ways.

It will tell the stories of these times in four movements, inspired by turbulence and noise, survival and loss, the mud army and resilience, optimism and moving on.

In what will be a special night for Brisbane and Queensland, the Queensland Symphony Orchestra, led by internationally acclaimed conductor Asher Fisch, will bring Kats-Chernin’s richly symbolic work of art to life.

Audiences will also be treated to the Australian premiere performances of renowned Israeli composer Avner Dorman’s Variations Without a Theme and American composer John Adams’ stunning Grand Pianola Music.

Featured non-Australian music: John Adams, Avner Dorman

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Symphonia Eluvium : orchestra by Elena Kats-Chernin — World premiere
— performed by Queensland Symphony Orchestra and Asher Fisch

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login