Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Symphonia Eluvium : for choir and orchestra

by Erica Fryberg and Elena Kats-Chernin (2011)

Also known as: Symphony of the Floods

Work Overview

"I had begun composing a symphony for choir and orchestra, about Brisbane, commissioned by the Brisbane Festival, when in January 2011 the tragedy of the Queensland floods struck. I decided to completely rethink the concept and start from scratch. The symphony became my response to the enormously devastating event that cost lives and destroyed so much, but also united people in so many ways."
Elena Kats-Chernin

Work Details

Year: 2011

Instrumentation: Solo child, solo mezzo-soprano, SATB choir, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in B flat, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (3 players), piano (doubling celeste), organ, strings.

Contents note: 1. Nimbus -- 2. “As We Weep…” -- 3. The Mud Army -- 4. Cirrus.

Commission note: Commissioned by Brisbane Festival.

First performance: by Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Asher Fisch, The Brisbane Chorale, Canticum Chamber Choir at Symphonia Eluvium (QPAC Concert Hall) on 11 Sep 2011

Text by Erica Fryberg and Elena Kats-Chernin.
The words of The Hon. Anna Bligh MP, Premier of Queensland and Minister for Reconstruction are used with permission.


Video: Artscape - Symphonia Eluvium
ABC Arts Online
Elena Kats-Chernin’s first symphony was inspired by the floods that engulfed parts of Queensland in late 2010.

Resonate article: 2012 Helpmann Awards by Australian Music Centre

Performances of this work

11 Sep 2011: at Symphonia Eluvium (QPAC Concert Hall). Featuring Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Asher Fisch, The Brisbane Chorale, Canticum Chamber Choir.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.