Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

The Bourbaki Ensemble: music for harp and strings


The Bourbaki Ensemble: music for harp and strings

  • Date: Sunday, 1 July 2012, 2:00pm
  • Venue: Camden Uniting Church — 37 John Street, Camden, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: $25 | Children: $18 | Concession: $18 — Tickets can be purchased by phone on 0433 074 322

Event Details

A concert of music for string orchestra with solo harp. Acclaimed harpist Verna Lee was the soloist in the first ever Bourbaki Ensemble concert, in February 2001. We are delighted to welcome her back in our first performances for 2012, to play Debussy's Sacred and Profane Dances, one of the best known of virtuoso pieces for harp, and a work which proclaims in its title its enchanting variations of mood. Complementing the Debussy is a short and exquisite piece by Marcel Grandjany. The French accent of our concert continues with Albert Roussel's sparkling Sinfonietta for strings. Our programme also features poignant shorter works by Peter Sculthorpe and Sir Edward Elgar. Sculthorpe's Lament features a prominent solo part for cello, and Elgar's Sospiri ("Sighs"), composed in 1914, provides a foretaste of the melancholy which affected the composer more and more in the years during and after the First World War. We conclude our concert with Beethoven's great fugue for string quartet, in an arrangement for string orchestra. Such arrangements are often, perhaps rightly, condemned as being inimical to Beethoven's very carefully thought out compositional processes. In this one exceptional case, however, the expansion to an ensemble of multiple strings is usually thought justified by the immense scale and power of the music. Certainly a performance of this work by a large ensemble is an experience not to be forgotten!

Featured non-Australian music: Beethoven, Debussy, Grandjany, Roussel, Elgar.

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0433 074 322 or by email to david@bourbakiensemble.org

Featured Australian Works

Lament : for solo cello and strings (1991) by Peter Sculthorpe
— performed by David Angell, Verna Lee and Bourbaki Ensemble

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login