Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

The Reef - USA tour


The Reef - USA tour

  • Date: Thursday, 18 February 2016, 7:30pm
  • Venue: Kaufmann Concert Hall — 1395 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY, United States
  • Series: This event is part of the The Reef - USA Tour series
  • Tickets: USD 25 - 55 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (1-212) 415 5500

Event Details

“A wonderful and unprecedented marriage of surfing to a Tchaikovsky waltz.”—Sydney Morning Herald

Immerse yourself in an unforgettable visual and sonic experience of breathtaking imagery from Australia’s Ningaloo Reef and a fascinating score of music ranging from Bach to Pete Seeger, performed live by the Australian Chamber Orchestra.

A crew of surfers, musicians and filmmakers spent two weeks at the Ningaloo Reef, where the desert meets the sea. Their resulting film captures the ocean, the world's best surfers, the arid desert landscape and the starry sky, as an incredible array of music swirls around you. It is an illuminating and thrilling celebration of surfing, the ocean, landscape, film and music melded together.

Australian Chamber Orchestra
Richard Tognetti, artistic director & lead violin
Mick Sowry, director & producer
Jon Frank, director of photography
Derek Hynd, director of surfing
Iain Grandage, composer
Satu Vänskä, violin & vocals
Brian Ritchie, guitars

The Reef

RICHARD TOGNETTI: Derek and the Far Field Theory
TOGNETTI (real. I. Grandage) Heart of the Black Beast (real. I. Grandage)
TOGNETTI:) Bathymetry (arr. I. Grandage
SEEGER: Where Have All the Flowers Gone (arr. Grandage / Tognetti)
RAMEAU: Suite Des Vents from Les Boréades
LIGETI: Ramifications
GEORGE CRUMB: Night of the Electric Insects from Black Angels
J.S. BACH: Fuga from Violin Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001(arr. Tognetti)
ALICE IN CHAINS: “Them Bones” (arr. Tognetti)
CRUMB: God-Music from Black Angels
BRETT DEAN: Peripeteia from Electric Preludes
SHOSTAKOVICH: Allegro molto from Chamber Symphony, Op. 110a (arr. Barshai)
RACHMANINOFF: Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14
SEEGER: “Where Have All the Flowers Gone” (arr. Grandage / Tognetti)
ALICE IN CHAINS: “Angry Chair” (arr. R. Tognetti)
BEETHOVEN: Cavatina from String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 8274 3887 or by email to boxoffice@aco.com.au

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login