Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Winter Dreams


Winter Dreams

  • Date: Wednesday, 16 August 2023 to Thursday, 17 August 2023, 7:30 pm for both days
  • Venue: Llewellyn Hall ANU School of Music — School of Music, The Australian National University, Canberra, ACT
  • Tickets: Adults: 60-109 | Concession: 53-96 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 0262 626 772

Event Details

In fantasy and folklore, winter is both magical and terrible, a source of wonder and an image of desolation. This program explores its shadows and brilliant light through mesmeric music inspired by ice and snow. Nothing is as it seems in the spellbinding Der Schneeman (The Snowman), originally penned for four-hand piano and violin when Korngold was just 11 years old. A runaway success, this enchanting dance of love and deception foreshadows his later fame as a Hollywood composer. By contrast, Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh’s Icy Disintegration depicts the accelerated melting and breaking of polar icebergs caused by climate change. It’s urgent and explicitly programmatic: a fractured landscape of glaring brass, shimmering strings and swelling percussion. This iridescent quality carries through into Frank Martin’s Concerto for Seven Winds, Percussion and Strings. A playful yet exquisitely intricate work of Neo-Baroque elegance, this ‘concert within a concert’ showcases CSO Principal musicians. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 1, his first large-scale work, forms the second half of this program. Winter Dreams bears all the hallmarks of the composer’s beloved later symphonies: poignant melodies, edge-of-the-seat tension and monumental climaxes.

Featured non-Australian music: Erich Korngold Der Schneemann: Vorspiel, Serenade and Walzer; Frank Martin Concerto for seven wind instruments, timpani, percussion and string orchestra; Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1 in G minor, op. 13

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0262 626 772 or by email to tickets@cso.org.au

Featured Australian Works

Icy disintegration : for orchestra (2009) by Annie Hsieh
— performed by Alex Briger and Canberra Symphony Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login