Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Great Barrier : a suite for guitar orchestra

by Richard Charlton (2012)

Work Overview

Not so much about the reef itself but about various aspects of it and my feelings towards it. 1. 'The Fatal Reef' refers to the many dangers it posed to early explorers, not least to Captain Cook. 2. 'Clownfish & Seahorse Ballet' is a light-hearted dance featuring two of the reef's more celebrated inhabitants. 3. 'A Dream of Corals' celebrates the wonderful colour, diversity and uniqueness of the reef. 4. 'The Voyage of the Green Sea Turtle' takes us on an amazing journey that is the life of a creature that can live for up to 80 years. From nesting to feeding areas, Green Sea Turtles are known to make long ocean voyages but always returning to the same beach to lay their eggs.

Work Details

Year: 2012

Instrumentation: Guitar Orchestra/ensemble (gu1, gu2, gu3, bass gu)

Duration: 13 min.

Difficulty: Medium

Contents note: 1. The Fatal Reef -- 2. Clownfish & Seahorse Ballet -- 3. A Dream of Corals -- 4. The Voyage of the Green Sea Turtle.

Commission note: Commissioned by Joanne McCluskey for performance by Townsville Guitar Orchestra.

First performance: by Townsville Guitar Orchestra, Richard Charlton — 8 Apr 12. Riverway Arts Centre, Townsville, QLD


Performances of this work

27 Oct 19: Carlton Theatre - Carlyle Gardens, Townsville QLD

14 Aug 16: Adelaide Town Hall. Featuring Adelaide Guitar Festival Orchestra, Richard Charlton, Paul Svoboda.

8 Apr 12: Riverway Arts Centre, Townsville, QLD. Featuring Townsville Guitar Orchestra, Richard Charlton.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.