Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Six quarks : guitar duet

by Richard Charlton (2009)

Six quarks


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


Six quarks : for two guitars / by Richard Charlton.

Library shelf no. 785.78712/CHA 7 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Quarks are fundamental matter particles that are constituents of neutrons and protons and other hadrons. There are six different types of quarks. Each quark type is called a flavour. The idea for these duos was suggested by Janet Agostino and I have tried to capture in sound something of the 'flavour' of each Quark; even if in name only! As befits their fundamental nature I have tried to used the smallest particles of music; that of the basic intervals in order to build up these little movements.

Work Details

Year: 2009

Instrumentation: 2 guitars.

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Features some extended techniques

Contents note: Top -- Bottom -- Charm -- Strange -- Up -- Down.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Duo Agostino

The work is in a comtemporary style, featuring altered harmony, and some dissonance.

Performances of this work

12 Jan 15: Sydney Guitar Summer School, Packer Theatre, Ascham School, Sydney. Featuring Duo Agostino.

30 Jul 13: 2013 Dillington Guitar Festival, Dillington House, Ilminster Somerset UK. Featuring Duo Agostino.

1 Aug 10: West Recital Hall, Sydney Conservatorium, Macquarie St. Sydney. Featuring Duo Agostino.

2 May 2010: at Two Guitars Dine Out (Forestville Uniting Church). Featuring Raffaele Agostino, Janet Agostino.

20 Mar 2010: at Tall Tales (Wesley Music Centre).

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.