Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Infinite Possibilities : full orchestra

by Leah Curtis (2022)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Infinite Possibilities


Add to cart


Infinite Possibilities : for orchestra / Leah Curtis.

Library shelf no. 784.2/CUR 1 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Writing Infinite Possibilities has extended me into new sound worlds. Exploring movement, embodiment, and what might emerge from the silence. It has grounded me and reminded me how things are brought to life with light, brilliant and glinting, and enlivened with colour, bold and lush, or through subtle shimmering shifts.

It has drawn me into imagining the distinctive virtuosity of each member of the orchestra, and to carefully curate and weave this into something emboldened and nuanced, intricate and whole.

It has been an exploration of possibilities of where the work is enlivened, finding threads of connectivity, the nuance of gestures between players, and, in allowing it to unfold, finding the moments in which the music can transition into being a felt experience.

Author Lisa Olivera beautifully describes it: "I find possibility to be deeply comforting and supportive, to be igniting and energizing, to be softening and spacious ... it is always available, always there when we choose to look, always waiting for us to let it carry us when our legs are giving out, always a way of being we can return to ... it asks us to make space for magic, to make room for something beyond ourselves..."

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: 2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B flat, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in B flat, 3 trombones, tuba, percussion (rain stick, suspended cymbal), piano, harp, solo violin, strings.

Duration: 11 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Canberra Symphony Orchestra.

First performance: by Canberra Symphony Orchestra, Jessica Cottis — 23 Nov 22. Llewellyn Hall, Canberra, ACT

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc in association with this work:
Women composers, nature, texture. Influences: John Adams, Kaija Saariaho, John Corigliano, Ola Gjeilo, Hildur Guðnadóttir.

Performances of this work

24 Nov 22: Llewellyn Hall, Canberra, ACT. Featuring Canberra Symphony Orchestra, Jessica Cottis.

23 Nov 22: Llewellyn Hall, Canberra, ACT. Featuring Canberra Symphony Orchestra, Jessica Cottis.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.