Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Triptych : for orchestra

by Robert Davidson (1988)



Add to cart


Triptych : for symphony orchestra / Robert Davidson

Library shelf no. 784.2/DAV 1 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

Triptych is a set of three variations - fast-slow-fast - on a 7-chord progression. The progression is stated in a clear rendition in between each movement. Each chord is a conglomerate of several different common chords that are given separate treatment in orchestration, register and other musical ways. Melody lines weave in and out, as just more layers in a highly contrapuntal texture that focuses on rhythmic drive.

Work Details

Year: 1988

Instrumentation: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, percussion (xylophone, maracas, bass drum), strings.

Duration: 12 min.

Difficulty: Medium

Contents note: In 3 untitled movements.

Commission note: Commissioned by Queensland Symphony Orchestra.

First performance: by Richard Mills, Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra — 5 Nov 88. Cremorne Theatre, Queensland Cultural Centre, Brisbane


Performances of this work

5 Nov 88: Cremorne Theatre, Queensland Cultural Centre, Brisbane. Featuring Richard Mills, Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.