Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Broken Threads : for piano solo

by Mark Grandison (2021)

Broken Threads


Add to cart


Broken Threads : for piano solo / Mark Grandison.

Library shelf no. 786.2/GRA 27 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Variations of a 12-note theme - C - G - Bb - F - Eb - D - Ab - Db - E - A - F# - B (purely pitch; no associated rhythmic profile) via alternating toccatas and passacaglias. Theme is progressively disassembled or 'unthreaded' via a range of procedures - inversion and retrograde, fragmentation, elongation and diminution, ornamentation, interpolation, and reduction to select intervallic components.

Work Details

Year: 2021

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 25 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: Prelude -- Passacaglia I -- Toccata I -- Passacaglia II -- Toccata II -- Passacaglia III -- Toccata III -- Passacaglia IV -- Postlude.

Commission note: Written for Composing the Future - Sydney International Piano Competition

Performances of this work

9 Jan 23: Sydney International Piano Competition. Featuring Jeonghwan Kim.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.