Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Rondo caprice : for symphonic wind ensemble

by Mark Grandison (2003)

Rondo caprice


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


Rondo caprice : for wind orchestra / Mark Grandison.

Library shelf no. Q 784.8/GRA 3 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Rondo Caprice is the fourth and final movement from the composer's 'Sinfonietta', originally commissioned for Youth Orchestra by the Sydney Symphony Youth Orchestra. It was subsequently rearranged for Wind Orchestra in 2007.

The work was to be conceived in neo-classical style. This is reflected in its marriage of classical forms, clear textures and simple rhythmic motifs, with a more dissonant harmonic language, including the use of chromaticism, polychords and modes.

Work Details

Year: 2003

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 3 flutes, 2 oboes, 3 clarinets in B flat, bass clarinet in B flat, 2 bassoons, 2 alto saxophones, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 4 horns, 3 trumpets in B flat, 2 trombones, bass trombone, euphonium, tuba, timpani, percussion (3 players).

Duration: 4 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — High-level Secondary to tertiary level - numerous chromatic turns at fast tempo

Arrangement of orchestral work at request of Coups de Vents music organisation based in Lille, France. To be published and distributed by Feeling Music Editions.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.