Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Silent spring : large chamber ensemble

by Karen Heath (2017)

Silent spring


Add to cart


Silent spring / Karen Heath.

Library shelf no. 785.2419/HEA 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Written for Arcko Symphonic Ensemble in 2017, Silent Spring is a homage to the environmental science book of the same name, which was authored by Rachel Carson and published in 1962. The piece seeks to illustrate the journey humankind is currently on as it wrestles with disengagement, disinformation and varying degrees of action.

Work Details

Year: 2017

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, contrabass clarinet in B flat, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello, contrabass.

Duration: 11 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Timothy Phillips

Commission note: Commissioned by Arcko Symphonic Ensemble.

First performance: by Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Timothy Phillips at Chamber View 5: Silent Spring (Church of All Nations) on 27 Oct 2017


Performances of this work

27 Oct 2017: at Chamber View 5: Silent Spring (Church of All Nations). Featuring Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Timothy Phillips.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.