Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String quartet : string quartet

by Bozidar Kos (1982)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

String Quartet. The first movement, with the exception of the introduction, consists primarily of two types of material: expressive polyphony, based on succession of six-note chords, and a short melodic fragment that undergoes various transformation processes and contrapuntal treatments resulting in complex and dense texture. Long sustained notes, moving from instrument to instrument in a hocket style, are projected out of this complex texture and can be perceived either as belonging intrinsically to that texture or as an independent, very slow moving melody.

Dualism is the underlying principle affecting many levels of composition, manifested, for example, directly as interplay between textural and quasi thematic writing.

On another level, the work attempts to synthesize characteristics of southeast European folk music with art music on one hand, and contemporary and traditional techniques of composition on the other.

Elements of southeast European folk music, such as complex rhythmic structures based on additive rhythms and asymmetric metric pulsations, micro-tonally inflected pitches, small melodic gestalts based on minor thirds and semitones, etc., are evident particularly in the first and last movements of the String Quartet. In contrast, the middle movement is slow and lyrical, revealing almost ethereal dreamlike qualities.

Work Details

Year: 1982

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Petra String Quartet with funds provided by Australia Council. Music Board, Tasmanian Arts Advisory Board.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.