Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


RELEASE : full orchestra

by Ella Macens (2020)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)



Add to cart


RELEASE : for symphony orchestra / Ella Macens.

Library shelf no. 784.2/MAC 1 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

RELEASE is a celebration of warmth, security and comfort.
It is about returning to self amidst chaos, with a gentle knowing that everything is as it should be.
It is about bravery and courage, and the strength it takes to move away from what no longer feels right in the trust that deeper alignment awaits elsewhere.
RELEASE is about letting go.

Work Details

Year: 2020

Instrumentation: Flute, flute/piccolo, oboe, oboe/cor anglais, 2 clarinets in b flat, bassoon, contrabassoon, 4 horns in f, 2 trumpets in bb, 2 tenor trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (bass drum, vibraphone, suspended cymbals, glockenspiel), harp, strings.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Sydney Symphony Orchestra.. This work was made possible through the Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s 50 Fanfares Project and was commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, supported by Christine Bishop.

First performance: 9 Nov 22. Sydney Opera House Concert Hall, NSW

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
2023 Art Music Awards: Work of the Year: Large Ensemble Finalist Ella Macens

Performances of this work

9 Nov 22: Sydney Opera House Concert Hall, NSW

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.