Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Mesoscale fanfare : for orchestra

by Scott McIntyre (2017)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Mesoscale fanfare


Add to cart


Mesoscale fanfare : for orchestra / Scott McIntyre.

Library shelf no. 784.2/MCI 3 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

The subject matter for this piece is the behaviour of sea eddies, or "Mesoscale" eddies. Written as a fanfare, the piece falls into four main sections that correspond with the life cycle of a sea eddy. The first section, Formation, progresses through further stages of adaptation and self-assurance as the pattern and shape of the whirlpool forms. The second section describes the Journey and the interactions with the sea life it encounters. You can hear some of this sea life swirling around inside. The third stage is Chaos as the eddy reaches it's fruition and then starts to disintegrate, nearing the end of it's journey rushing through intense and highly energetic movement. The fourth and final stage is a slow death and ultimate destruction as it sputters out.

When Stanley Kubrick made 2001: A space odyssey he wanted all the scenes shot in the space vehicle scenes to suggest a constant rotation and circular patterns and orbits. This piece also incorporates circular, swirling patterns throughout, suggested by the use of alternating seconds, sevenths and ninths (both major and minor) and tri tones. The step wise patterns of the seconds helps convey the fluidity of the water, whilst the tri-tones establish a pivot on which to spin the notes around a central axis.

The four sections also corresponds with the four dramatic and narrative principles outlined by Polish composer, Witold Lutosławski; introductory, transitory, static, and conclusionary.

Work Details

Year: 2017

Instrumentation: Piccolo, flute, 2 oboes, clarinet in A, bass clarinet (doubling clarinet in A), bassoon, contrabassoon, 3 horns, 2 trumpets in C, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (1 player), harp, strings.

Duration: 5 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra with funds provided by University of Tasmania.. Commissioned as part of the Oceanic Cultural Connections program

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.