Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Septet : for clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, cello, and double bass

by David Paterson (2020)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Tailor-made for the brilliant musicians of the Melbourne Ensemble, David Paterson's Septet is a showcase of textures and soundworlds to delight and intrigue the ear.

The first movement pays homage to the minimalism of Steve Reich and to the 'chance music' of John Cage, with each performer left free to decide how many times to repeat their melodic phrases, creating a unique multi-layered musical fabric over a driving rhythmic pattern in the bass. The second movement celebrates the virtuosity of the players in its quicksilver opening introduction, while a slow and mysterious central section explores the full range of colours offered by the many and various combinations of wind and string instruments.

Work Details

Year: 2020

Instrumentation: Clarinet, bassoon, French horn, violin, viola, cello, double bass.

Duration: 14 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: In 2 movements

Written for: Melbourne Ensemble

Commission note: Commissioned by ABC Fresh Start Fund.. Commissioned by ABC Fresh Start Fund. Commissioned by the ABC Fresh Start Fund for ABC Classic


Septet Mvmt I
Septet Mvmt II

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.