Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String Quartet No.1 : string quartet

by David Paterson (2022)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Whilst rummaging through copious sketches for material to use in this work, I came across a melodic line scrawled many years ago. From this seven-bar melody played twice by the first violin in the opening of the first movement, almost all the material for what became the First String Quartet is derived from the musical cells contained within this melody.

The notion of developing musical material from an opening statement over multiple movements has long been established, with Beethoven's Symphony No.5, Op.67 being one of the most famous examples. In addition to creating unity within a work as a whole, this method provides for the audience a coherent journey with which to follow in context of a piece of absolute music. A quality which is integral to my experience as an audience member for any work.

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 20 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. Allegro -- II. Adagio Tranquillo -- III. Toccata and Chorale -- IV. Fugue and Finale.

Commission note: Commissioned by Australian String Quartet.. Commissioned by Australian String Quartet. Commissioned with the generous support of Michael Rowe and Bernard Ryan in celebration of the birthday of Patricia Davidson.

First performance: by Australian String Quartet — 20 Feb 22. Fairfax Theatre, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, ACT.


String Quartet No.1 Mvmt I
String Quartet No.1 Mvmt II
String Quartet No.1 Mvmt III
String Quartet No.1 Mvmt IV

Performances of this work

20 Feb 22: Fairfax Theatre, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, ACT.. Featuring Australian String Quartet.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.