Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Diabolic dance

by John Peterson (1998)

Score Sample

View a sample of the score of this work
This sample is from the String orchestra version of this work

Versions of this work

Select from the following versions of this work to view more detailed information:

- Duos: Violin, cello

- String orchestra

Products featuring this work

Format Title Version AMC Library Price  


Diabolic dance : for violin & cello / John Peterson.

Duos: Violin, cello Not for loan $26.86 Add to cart


Diabolic dance : for violin and cello / John Peterson.

Duos: Violin, cello Available for loan $26.86 Add to cart


Diabolic dance : for string orchestra / John Peterson.

String orchestra Available for loan $45.45 Add to cart


Diabolic dance : for string orchestra / John Peterson.

String orchestra Not for loan Hire Only  

Work Overview

While much of my music is influenced by rock and popular music styles, as well as by other contemporary 'classical' music, I am also very fond of using octatonic scales as source material for various works. In Diabolic Dance, I have used an octatonic scale which has only three transpositions, and the melodies and harmonies of this piece are derived from these so-called Modes of Limited Transposition. By combining these three modes in various ways - both individually and simultaneously - a tension is created and sustained throughout the various sections of the piece. This tension is heightened by the rhythmic interaction between the instruments. This instrumental interplay is sometimes playful, sometimes rigorously aggressive and often quite intricate, with many changes of time signature and heavy use of displaced rhythmic accents creating many 'diabolic' problems for the performers.

The title also refers to the 'diabolus in musica', the medieval name given to the tritone (the augmented fourth), an interval that is emphasised throughout the piece.

Diabolic Dance was written especially for my good friends Christine Myers (violin) and Eleanor Lewis (cello).

Work Details

Year: 1998

Duration: 6-7 min.

Some of the material for this piece came from a 1991 piece, called 'Dance No. 2' for clarinet and cello.

Performances of this work

15 Aug 98: Queensland Conservatorium Recital Theatre, Southbank, Brisbane. Featuring Christine Myers, Eleanor Lewis.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.