Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


The Day after Drowning : an echo on Satie’s Gnossienne No.1

by Damien Ricketson (2016)

Day after Drowning


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


The Day after Drowning : for piano and electronics / Damien Ricketson.

Library shelf no. 786.2/RIC 2 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Imagine Erik Satie's Gnossienne No.1 played by Reinbert de Leeuw from the floor of the ocean. The Day After Drowning is one of a growing collection of compositions based on recomposing existing works in a dream-like or altered state of perception. In this reimagining, the languid tempo of de Leeuw's interpretation of Satie is grotesquely distended as though time is dilating and the natural resonance of the piano augmented as though heard through a strange medium.

Work Details

Year: 2016

Instrumentation: Solo piano, stereo playback. Audio cues are operated by a score-reading sound operator. Instructions included in the score. 

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Zubin Kanga

Commission note: Commissioned by Zubin Kanga with funds provided by Australia Council.

First performance: by Zubin Kanga at Cyborg Pianist (Richard Gill Auditorium, WAAPA) on 4 Oct 2016


Day after Drowning

Performances of this work

22 Oct 2016: at Cyborg Pianist (Music Workshop, Sydney Conservatorium of Music). Featuring Zubin Kanga, Benjamin Carey.

11 Oct 2016: at Zubin Kanga - Cyborg Pianist (Melbourne Recital Centre, Primrose Potter Salon). Featuring Zubin Kanga.

4 Oct 2016: at Cyborg Pianist (Richard Gill Auditorium, WAAPA). Featuring Zubin Kanga.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.