Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Four Monteverdi realisations (duos: soprano, mezzo-soprano with chamber ensemble)

by Paul Sarcich (2015)

Four Monteverdi realisations


Add to cart


Four Monteverdi realisations / by Paul Sarcich.

Library shelf no. 783.12542/SAR 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Three Monteverdi arias (Si dolce è'il tormento, Lamento d'Arianna, Con che soavità) and a duet (Pur ti miro, from the Coronation of Poppea) have been given modern realisations for an ensemble of voices, flutes, percussion and piano. Monteverdi's words and essential structures have been adhered to, and his music forms the basis for imaginative contemporary treatments of the arias, bringing out the romantic nature of them in a modern context.

Work Details

Year: 2015

Instrumentation: Soprano, mezzo-soprano, flutes (piccolo, flute, alto flute, bass flute), percussion, piano.

Duration: 20 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Lamento di'Arianna (for mezzo and ensemble ; 8 min.) -- 2. Si dolce è'l tormento (for soprano and ensemble ; 3 min., 20 sec.) -- 3. Con che soavità (for mezzo and ensemble ; 3 min., 40 sec.) -- 4. Pur ti miro (for soprano and mezzo with ensemble ; 4 min., 40 sec.).

Commission note: Commissioned by Sonya Lifschitz for performance by Press, Play.

First performance: by Press, Play — 11 Oct 15. Reardon Theatre, Port Fairy, Vic

These pieces may be performed as a suite or stand-alone numbers.

Performances of this work

11 Oct 15: Reardon Theatre, Port Fairy, Vic. Featuring Press, Play.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.