Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Akhmatova requiem : soprano with string orchestra

by Christopher Willcock (2000)

Akhmatova requiem

Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Details

Year: 2000

Instrumentation: Soprano, string orchestra ( minimum).

Duration: 45 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Professional.

Contents note: 1. Instead of a preface -- 2. Dedication -- 3. Prologue -- 4. I: Arrest -- 5. II: Woman alone -- 6. III: Night -- 7. IV: Outside the prison -- 8. V: Understanding nothing -- 9. VI: White nights -- 10. VII: The sentence -- 11. VIII: To death -- 12. IX: Madness -- 13. X: Crucifixion -- 14. Epilogue I -- 15. Epilogue II.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Merlyn Quaife

Commission note: Commissioned by The University of Melbourne by the Albert H. Maggs Award

First performance: 29 Oct 01. St Paul's Cathedral, Melbourne

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
1998 Albert H Maggs Composition Award First Prize Christopher Willcock


Performances of this work

29 Oct 01: St Paul's Cathedral, Melbourne

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.