Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Albert H Maggs Composition Award


Albert H Maggs Composition Award

In 1966 Albert H. Maggs, a bookmaker from Toorak, presented to the University of Melbourne the sum of $10,000 for the purpose of founding an award to be known as "The Albert H. Maggs Composition Award" with the expressed with that this award should encourage and assist composers of classical music who might otherwise abandon their efforts for want of means.

The selection committee consisting of composers makes its decision based on applications and a score & recording of a composition written in the last three years. The award funds a new, commissioned work by the selected composer.


Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
1967 First Prize Nigel Butterley
1968 First Prize Larry Sitsky
1969 First Prize Colin Brumby
1970 First Prize Keith Humble
1971 First Prize Raymond Hanson Divertimento
1972 First Prize George Dreyfus Old Melbourne
1973 First Prize Graham Hair
1974 First Prize Donald Hollier
1975 First Prize Ann Carr-Boyd Gold
1976 First Prize Eric Gross Trilogy for orchestra, op.112
1977 First Prize Tristram Cary Strands
1978 First Prize Barry Conyngham String quartet
1979 First Prize Richard David Hames
1980 First Prize David Worrall Two images for two pianos
1981 First Prize Larry Sitsky Concerto for clarinet and strings : Santana
1982 First Prize Richard Mills
1983 First Prize Bozidar Kos
1984 First Prize Brenton Broadstock Battlements
1985 First Prize Andrew Schultz Reading a view
1986 First Prize Warren Burt
1987 First Prize Wang-Hua Chu
1988 First Prize Julian Yu Reclaimed prefu
1990 First Prize Mary Finsterer Catch
1991 First Prize Stephen Cronin Cries and whispers
1992 First Prize Mark Pollard View from the beach
1993 First Prize Lesleigh Thompson Poison
1994 First Prize Gerard Brophy Trip
1995 First Prize Thomas Reiner Flexions
1996 First Prize Wilfred Lehmann Suite
1997 First Prize David Joseph Rhapsody
1998 First Prize Christopher Willcock Akhmatova requiem
1999 First Prize Wilfred Lehmann Suite
2000 First Prize Gerard Brophy Topolo-NRG
2001 First Prize Stuart Greenbaum Sonata for alto saxophone and piano
2002 First Prize Lawrence Whiffin Concerto for violin and five instruments
2003 First Prize Dominik Karski Inward
2004 First Prize Nigel Butterley Never this sun, this watcher
2005 First Prize John Peterson Guilty pleasures
2006 First Prize Johanna Selleck Four Tapestries
2007 First Prize Mark Isaacs String Sextet
2008 First Prize Barry Conyngham Showboat Kalang
2009 First Prize Kate Neal
2010 First Prize Paul Stanhope
2011 First Prize Katy Abbott Introduced species : Symphony no. 2
2012 First Prize Andrew Ford Rauha
2013 First Prize Brenton Broadstock
2014 First Prize Tim Dargaville Between Breath and Word
2015 First Prize Julian Yu For our natural world
2016 First Prize Peter Knight Diomira
2017 First Prize Lachlan Skipworth Spiritus
2018 First Prize Natalie Williams Saudade
2019 First Prize Wally Gunn Moonlite