Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Three symphonic poems : for orchestra

by Julian Yu (1994)

Three symphonic poems


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


Three symphonic poems : for orchestra / by Julian Yu.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/YU 4 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

The three works which together comprise Three Symphonic Poems were written at different times during a three-year period from 1991 to 1994. They were not commissioned, but written purely for my own enjoyment.

Recently I have been increasingly interested in the use of quotations and hints as an integral process in composition. Brilliant examples of this can be found in the music of Berg, Shostakovich, Stravinsky, Webern, Crumb, Berio and others. For me, this process can be applied not only to melody and harmony, but also to musical structure, resulting in total structural quotation - which incidentally is what happens during ornamentation in Chinese instrumental folk music. Structural quotation is a lot of fun to explore in contemporary composition.

Three Symphonic Poems uses both structural and melodic/harmonic quotation. The titles Oasis, Confluence and Undulation were added after completion of the piece. Although they appear to be linked with nature, they do not describe the music but hint merely at its inner structure. For example, in Confluence, two streams of harmonic progression merge into one, while Undulation has a wave-like, contrapuntal structure, full of dynamism and contrast.

Work Details

Year: 1994

Instrumentation: 2 piccolos, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 4 clarinets (3rd doubling bass clarinet), 2 bassoons (2nd doubling contrabassoon), 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in C (both doubling trumpet in D), 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, percussion (4 players), harp, piano (doubling celesta), strings.

Duration: 21 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: Oasis -- Confluence -- Undulation.

First performance: by Sydney Symphony, Gunther Schuller — 12 May 95. Sydney Opera House

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
1994 Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize Winner Julian Yu

Performances of this work

12 May 95: Sydney Opera House. Featuring Sydney Symphony, Gunther Schuller.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.