Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Particles : chamber orchestra

by Kim Bowman (2011)



Add to cart


Particles / Kim Bowman.

Library shelf no. Q 784.3/BOW 2 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

I started research for this piece in the beginning of 2010. I studied particle behaviour, the search for the Higgs Boson, astrophysics, the universe and it's dimensions and the behaviour of time. My intention was to find a master plan that would generate the behaviour of each musical line.

From the beginning I knew it was going to be a piece for chamber orchestra consisting of only solo instruments. Single winds, just a marimba and only 19 strings to avoid the massive sound puddles in the string sections.

I wanted to back away as a directing force in the creation of this piece from a need to write an abstract piece and have mathematics, chance or whatever formal design construct the piece.

It was a great journey, but without finding the intended goal. Finally I decided to just start writing, though acknowledging I was influenced by my self-inflicted brainwash, using a little cell of fast notes as a building block. And so the piece came into existence in about 4 weeks at the beginning of 2011.

Work Details

Year: 2011

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, contrabassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, tuba, marimba, 9 violins, 5 violas, 3 cellos, 2 double basses.

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — All instrumentalists are to be soloists, there is no doubling of parts

The composer states this work is quite abstract, not romantic at all.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.