Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Bossa Sonora : for violin and piano

by Margaret Brandman (2021)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (3 more)

Margaret Brandman's La Vida Apasionada


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Display all products featuring this work (3 more)  

Work Overview

Bossa Sonora is the second movement of the La Vida Apasionada suite of 8 movements that was originally composed for a string and percussion ensemble.

The violin and piano version was created so that the work also can be performed as a duet.

The introduction of this gently swaying work traverses through the key of G minor to its dominant key D major. The main theme is in E flat Major, but many extended chromatic chords add richness to the harmonic progression. At bar 57 there is change of thematic material with a key change to G Major in which the music continues until the coda at bar 95 when the music returns to D Major, harking back to the chord progression in the introduction.

Work Details

Year: 2021

Instrumentation: Violin, piano.

Duration: 4 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Bossa Nova Rhythm, double stops, pizzicato


Performances of this work

13 Apr 24: St Alfege Church, Greenwich London UK . Featuring Hooked on Flutes.

18 Sep 22: Grand Hall at Mosman Art Gallery, NSW

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.