Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


The three sisters : for saxophone, harp, cello and guitar

by Marian Budos (2010)

Work Overview

The Three Sisters was commissioned by cellist David Pereira for the 2010 David Pereira Cello Series, Programme 2 - 'Once Upon A Time'. This concert tour of the ACT and NSW celebrated the International Year of Books. Two fairy tales were the inspiration for the programme - The Little Mermaid by the Danish poet and author Hans Christian Andersen (1805 -1875) and Salt Over Gold (Salt is More Precious Than Gold) by the Slovakian author Pavol Dobšinský (1828 - 1885). The former inspired Ivana Troselj to composed On Broken Glass and the latter inspired Marian Budos to write The Three Sisters.

Both works were interwoven with narratives written by Ivana Troselj and puppets were used throughout the performances to tell the story. Young audiences were especially invited to enjoy 'these magical' fairy tales concerts.

Work Details

Year: 2010

Instrumentation: Saxophone (tenor and soprano), harp, guitar, cello.

Duration: 13 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note:  1. The One who Loves me the most shall be the Queen -- 2. The old woman, Marushka and her work at the cottage -- 3. The engagement party with no salt -- 4. Marushka returns to the castle with a bag of salt and heals her sick father -- 5. Marushka's coronation.

Dedication note: "For Mercedes, Mishka and Thea"

First performance: by Niels Rosendahl, Alice Giles, David Pereira, Marian Budos — 7 Apr 10. St Mary's Catholic Church, Ripon St, Young, NSW


Performances of this work

7 Apr 10: St Mary's Catholic Church, Ripon St, Young, NSW. Featuring Niels Rosendahl, Alice Giles, David Pereira, Marian Budos.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.