Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Clarinet Concerto: Échappsodie (clarinet with full orchestra)

by Alice Chance (2022)

Clarinet Concerto: Échappsodie


Add to cart


Clarinet Concerto: Échappsodie / Alice Chance.

Library shelf no. 784.2/CHA 4 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Echappsodie is a cheeky, rebellious response to Debussy's Premiere Rhapsodie. It uses wrong notes on purpose, steals motifs and stretches them, flips them upside-down and escapes with them into outer space.

I am nothing if not two things: a big French enthusiast and big wordplay enthusiast. So, I couldn't resist taking the French verb to escape, 'échapper', and combining it with 'rhapsodie'to create the title of this piece. When you listen to Échappsodie, imagine a sunny living room in Marrickville. Imagine two wide-eyed friends, one of them saying 'what if you did this? Is this idiomatic for the clarinet?'.

And the other saying, 'No, but I'll try it anyway!'

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: Solo clarinet in B flat, 3 flutes (3rd doubling piccolo), 3 oboes, 2 clarinets in B flat (2nd doubling bass clarinet), 3 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, timpani, 3 percussion, 2 harps, strings.

Duration: 20 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Willoughby Symphony Orchestra, Oliver Shermacher.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.