Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


ANZAC (full orchestra with solo instrument(s))

by Barry Conyngham (2014)

Work Overview

This work for orchestra and nine soloists is a personal reflection on the ANZAC phenomenon. The nine soloists, supported by the orchestra, may be seen as suggesting characters, moods, images, or memories, in dream-like references to confusion, nostalgia, ceremony and contradiction.

The work is in two parts, each having a number of continuous sections. Here they are, with (in brackets) the soloists featured.

Part 1
Dawn (Trumpet, all soloists) ; Fearful (Violin, Cello) ; Thoughtful (Clarinet, Guitar) ; Apprehensive (Clarinet, Piano, Guitar) ; Nostalgic (Violin)

Part 2
Authoritative (Trombone, Piano, Guitar, Trumpet) ; Bucolic (Flute, Cello) ; Fragmented (Cello, Violin) ; Chaotic (All soloists) ; Earthy (Marimba); Dusk (all soloists).

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Solo instruments: flute, clarinet, flugelhorn (trumpet), trombone, violin, electric guitar, cello, piano and percussion ; Orchestra: Piccolo, flute, oboe, cor anglais, clarinet in B flat, bass clarinet in B flat, bassoon, contra-bassoon, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in C, trombone, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players), strings.

Difficulty: Advanced

First performance: by Brett Dean, University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra at Barry Conyngham: ANZAC (Iwaki Auditorium) on 31 Aug 2014


Resonate article: Barry Conyngham on teaching, learning and the stuff of music by Anni Heino


ANZAC (excerpts) by Barry Conyngham

Professor Barry Conyngham talks about his career, music influences and his new composition, ANZAC, written for and performed by the University of Melbourne Orchestra featuring the staff of the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music.



Performances of this work

31 Aug 2014: at Barry Conyngham: ANZAC (Iwaki Auditorium). Featuring Brett Dean, University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.