Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


In that corner, in that very room : a piano suite after the Preludes of Chopin

by Drew Crawford (2010)

In that corner, in that very room


Add to cart


In that corner, in that very room : a piano suite after the Preludes of Chopin / Drew Crawford.

Library shelf no. Q 786.2185/CRA 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Composed between November 2009 and February 2010, all of the music in this work is based on transformations of one or more of Chopin's 24 Preludes Op. 28, whether that be in terms of the source material's pitch content, rhythmic organisation, gesture, texture or structure. These processes of transformation may or may not be easily heard, and the source material may not be clear to the listener; the pieces have to be able to stand on their own, apart from their source material, but can obviously be listened to in the context of their relationship to the Chopin Preludes.

It has not been my intention to imitate or up-date Chopin's music or try to compete with his works - his music was a seed and a guide. I was inspired by Chopin in the same way that he had been inspired by Bach's 24 Preludes, though I haven't set out to write a piece in each of the 24 different tonal keys, or even write 24 pieces, or call them Preludes. But if I have been able to induce even a fraction of the pleasure in the listener that I experience when listening to Chopin's Preludes I will consider this a worthwhile project.

For more information on the complete cycle of works in the Chopin Project,
please go to http://drewcrawford.wordpress.com/chopin-project-2010/

Work Details

Year: 2010

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 30 min.

Difficulty: Medium — A collection of 13 pieces, ranging in difficulty from easy to demanding/professional

Contents note: 1. At lightening speed, but not in vain -- 2. The way I play when I'm alone -- 3. Yesterday, among other things -- 4. A meditation in beautiful spring weather, but by moonlight -- 5. Try to please everybody! -- 6. Vienna, August, 1829 -- 7. Today you will dream of kissing me -- 8. A declaration after a scene of great emotion/lyrical 9ths -- 9. Running down (For my sisters: kisses, kisses, kisses) -- 10. Tango -- 11. Pathetique, or, You know how it is when you're sleepy and they ask you to improvise -- 12. Once, twice; leeches without end (Gothic) -- 13. Apotheosis (Have my body opened, so that I may not be buried alive).

Commission note: Commissioned by Peter Waters.. Commissioned by Peter Waters in 2010 through the Australia Cultural Fund to celebrate the 200th anniversary of Chopin’s birth.

First performance: by Zubin Kanga — 3 Dec 10. John Painter Hall, Australian Institute of Music, Sydney

The composer cites: Contemporary classical piano work influences: Phillip Glass, Howard Skempton, David Lang, Ross Edwards, Peter Sculthorpe.


Website: Chopin project 2010
composer blog and audio extracts

Resonate article: Insight: Bohemian Deconstruction by Drew Crawford


Performances of this work

3 Dec 10: John Painter Hall, Australian Institute of Music, Sydney. Featuring Zubin Kanga.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.