Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Wongadilla : Australian contrasts, symphonic suite in three movements

by Clive Douglas (1954)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Details

Year: 1954

Instrumentation: 3 flutes (2/3 doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in A, bass clarinet in B flat (doubling clarinet 3), 2 bassoons, contra bassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets in B flat, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, harp, strings.

Duration: 31 min.

Contents note: I. Sherbrooke forest: the home of the lyre bird, Dandenong Ranges, Victoria (13 min., 30 sec.) -- II. Derwent waters: reflections on scenes in the Derwent Valley, Tasmania (5 min., 30 sec.) -- III. Metropolis: a musical portrayal of a great city, Sydney, New South Wales (11 min., 30 sec.).

First performance: by Victorian Symphony Orchestra, Clive Douglas — 23 Jun 58. ABC Melbourne Youth Concert

Winner of Equal first award, ABC/APRA Composers' Competition, 1954.

Each movement may be performed separately.


Performances of this work

23 Jun 58: ABC Melbourne Youth Concert. Featuring Victorian Symphony Orchestra, Clive Douglas.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.