Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Ingressa : large chamber ensemble

by Elliott Gyger (2009)



Add to cart


Ingressa / Elliott Gyger.

Library shelf no. Q 785.3219/GYG 1 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

Ingressa is based on the Beneventan chant Maria vidit angelum, an "ingressa" or entrance hymn for Easter Sunday. Beneventan melodies (from the southern Italian town of Benevento) are sometimes fantastically ornate, constructed through the repetition and variation of short melodic cells. As with all Medieval chant, the notation gives little if any indication of durations or tempo, but the cells themselves are full of gestural and implicit rhythmic energy, and it is this energy as much as the beauty of the melodic contour which provides the inspiration for the piece.

The work is scored for an ensemble of fourteen players, comprising quintets of winds and strings; piano; harp; and two percussionists who play a particularly prominent role throughout. The overall structural plan reflects the title in being a drama of entrances. Instruments enter singly or in groups with transformations of the chant material, beginning with the contours of the first verse on unpitched percussion and building to a verbatim statement of the final Alleluia, split between string quartet and solo horn, amid the clangour of bells.

Ingressa is dedicated to Professor Thomas Kelly, one of the world's leading Beneventan chant scholars and my former colleague at Harvard.

Work Details

Year: 2009

Instrumentation: Piccolo, oboe, bass clarinet, contrabassoon, horn, 2 percussion, piano/celesta, harp, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass.

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Tom Kelly

First performance: by Elliott Gyger — 11 Jan 10. National Music Camp, Llewellyn Hall, Australian National University, Canberra

Performances of this work

25 Oct 2019: at Arcko Symphonic Ensemble: Neon Highway (St Stephen's Anglican Church, Richmond). Featuring Arcko Symphonic Ensemble.

19 Mar 2016: at Melbourne Made (Church of All Nations). Featuring Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Timothy Phillips.

11 Jan 10: National Music Camp, Llewellyn Hall, Australian National University, Canberra . Featuring Elliott Gyger.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.