Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Resonances II : three movements for solo piano

by Michael Hannan (1989)



Add to cart


Resonances : 12 movements for solo piano / Michael Hannan.

Library shelf no. 786.2/HAN 30 [Not for loan]

Resonances II


Add to cart


Resonances II : three movements for solo piano / Michael Hannan.

Library shelf no. 786.2/HAN 26 [Not for loan]

Work Overview

Resonances II (1989) is the second of a series of four works, each with three movements, which explore the complex resonances of the piano by means of a constantly depressed sustaining pedal. Like George Crumb's Makrokosmos works, the complete cycle of
twelve Resonances movements corresponds to the twelve astrological signs. Each movement is dedicated to one or more friends or associates (mostly composers) who have been born under the relevant sign. Some aspect of their work or personality has been used
as a source of inspiration for the composition of that movement, and occasionally there are actual musical references to the works of these people.

The Cancer movement "Harmonic Convergence" is dedicated to Colin Bright and to my partner Susan Boardman. Susan and I began our enduring relationship on the evening of an astronomical "harmonic convergence" in 1987. The movement also reflects Colin's
concerns about an Australian quality in music through its extensive use of the calls of the pied butcherbird. Besides containing personal and cosmological allusions the title refers to the merging in this movement of the harmonic materials of the first two movements of
the cycle.

The Leo movement, "Solar Projections", is dedicated to Roger Smalley. A device of rhythmic organisation from the opening of Roger's piano concerto served as the starting point for the composition of this movement, but as the movement evolved it became based
principally on the pitch material of the first movement of Resonances I.

The Virgo movement, "Mercurial Orbits", is dedicated to Barry Conyngham and Simon Wade. It is also based on butcherbird calls, and, like some of Barry's music, it has a discernible Japanese quality.
Michael Hannan

Work Details

Year: 1989

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: Harmonic convergence -- Nuclear projections -- Star phases.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Simon Wade, Colin Bright, Susan Boardman, Roger Smalley, Barry Conyngham


Resonate article: A lifetime of engagement with Australian music by Michael Hannan

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.