Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Symphony No. 1 : full orchestra

by Mark Isaacs (2013)

Symphony No. 1


Add to cart


Symphony No. 1 / Mark Isaacs.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/ISA 3 [Available for loan]

Symphony No. 1

Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Details

Year: 2013

Instrumentation: 2 flutes, piccolo/alto flute, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 3 clarinets in Bb (1st & 2nd double clarinets in A, 3rd doubles bass clarinet), 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C (1st doubles flugelhorn), 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players: suspended cymbal, bass drum, triangle, snare drum, clash cymbals, tam-tam, tubular bells, vibraphone, glockenspiel), harp, strings.

Duration: 30 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I Elegy: Larghetto supplicando -- II Scherzo and Trio: Presto con brio – Adagio nobilmente -- III Sicilienne: Andante teneramente -- IV Reverie: Allegro grazioso ma assai ritmico con moto – L'istesso tempo con brio – Larghetto supplicando.

Dedication note: "To my father"

Commission note: Commissioned by Kim Williams for performance by Queensland Symphony Orchestra.

First performance: by Benjamin Northey, Queensland Symphony Orchestra at QSO: Isaacs (QSO Studio South Bank) on 25 Oct 2013

Duration ca. 30 mins.


Resonate article: On symphonies and computers by Mark Isaacs


Symphony No. 1


Performances of this work

25 Oct 2013: at QSO: Isaacs (QSO Studio South Bank). Featuring Benjamin Northey, Queensland Symphony Orchestra.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.