Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String Quartet no. 4 : The Waking of the World

by Don Kay (1984)

Also known as: Waking of the World

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

This work is the composer's fourth String Quartet and it is designed to be performed by String Quartet alone. It is also, however a dramatic work with text by Gwen Harwood and in this setting is for Narrator (speaking), Children's Chorus (speaking and singing) and String Quartet. The text begins:

Once upon a time -
our human legends all begin
with 'once upon a time'.
How did the world arise
under a roof of light?
Who gave the gift of
being to earth and all its creatures?
Silence. Music is sleeping,
Waiting in every instrument

Work Details

Year: 1984

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello, optional narrator and children's chorus.

Duration: 20 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — The children's vocal part is simple

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.