Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Three Episodes From The Diary of Signaller Ellis Silas : for baritone, violin, trumpet in C and piano

by Constantine Koukias (2014)

Work Overview

The work is in three main movements. The text is set to music from the perspective of short and sometimes lost episodic memories. My intension is to give as much space as possible for the text to have time to resonate with the listener. My hope is capture some of the almost unspeakable and unavoidable sadness which these ANZACs endured. It is an attempt to grasp at times, the ungraspable sights and sounds from Ellis Silas╩╝ diary.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Baritone, violin, trumpet in C, piano.

Duration: 12 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. 25 April 1915 (c3:05) -- II. 28 April 1915 (c3:56) -- III. 1 May 1915 (c2:23).

Written for (and one of the winners of) the Gallipoli Centenary Composer Competition 2014. The competition was organised by ABC Classic FM and Radio New Zealand Concert, as part of commemorations for the 2015 centenary of the Gallipoli landings.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.